Utne Blogs > Literature

No Serious Book Review Sites Online? Think Again.

There’s a promising new book review site created by the good people at The New Republic. Introducing The Book: An Online Review, executive editor Isaac Chotiner writes: “The slow and steady transfer of people’s attention to the web is a fact of our culture. And the absence of any site for the serious consideration of serious books is also a fact of the web.”

Jacob Silverman over at the Virginia Quarterly Review takes issue with Chotiner’s diagnosis, and does us all the favor of collecting some of the best book review websites:

Although they may not have the institutional prestige of The New Republic, nor always the resources to pay writers, here are some web-only outlets that show a deep intellectual engagement with books and literary culture:

I urge Isaac Chotiner and Leon Wieseltier to take a look at these sites, if they are unfamiliar with them. They all publish excellent work—too much, perhaps, for one person to keep up with—and many of them feature very talented writers who are sometimes paid in nothing more than advance reader copies. (Id be remiss for not mentioning The Complete Review, which over the years has led me to several of these sites. There are also, Im sure, many sites I’m missing that deserve to be on the above list, including some, like Bookforum, that publish a print edition as well.)

Source: Virginia Quarterly ReviewThe Book

james
4/15/2016 2:02:57 AM

Isaac Chotiner is a good writer no doubt and gets the best reviews! this website http://www.dissertationboss.com/ also have some great and experienced writers.


rodney
10/4/2013 3:00:25 PM

Blogger Book Reviews | Where authors get reviews! Blogger Book Reviews is the world's first & only comprehensive Online Review Management firm. Bloggerbookreview is the #1 resource for book reviews Visit http://www.bloggerbookreviews.com/


christian perring
9/24/2011 9:21:29 AM

Metapsychology Online reviews has over 6000 reviews of a wide range of books, mainly on psychology and philosophy. Reviews are thoughtful: some for general readers, others more specialized. http://metapsychology.mentalhelp.net/


les
3/2/2010 7:55:54 AM

My historical fiction novel The Last Ute Chief was just published. Please read my editorial, below. I'd like this book reviewed by your group...if possible (phone 217-894-6870). I can send an e-book copy. Editorial: The Last Ute Chief by Les Davenport Have you ever wanted to write a novel? After 25 years of composing outdoor, nature, and travel features for magazines, I elected to take the leap into the book-writing business. My experience has been both good and bad. First, I began learning to transition from 2000-word articles (with no allowance for detailed description) to manuscripts 30 times longer. Lengthy story-telling requires innumerable graphic, reader-grabbing adjectives and adverbs in order to devour an audience’s attention, impaling them in the novel’s belly. Novel writing also required tenfold the awareness to story line—a plot—and linking characters to the ultimate endgame, pleasing readers. After spending countless hours researching the Vietnam War and the Ute Indians, I wrote my first novel, historical fiction. It depicts the life and struggles of Native American Boyd Barfoot before and after he leaves the Ute reservation in Utah. He encounters racism during boot camp when he is derogatorily referred to as “Chief” by his drill sergeant and fellow trainees. Bigotry continues during ranger training where he ultimately gains respect by earning the Bronze Star for non-combat valor. Most of this novel’s 230 pages detail Boyd’s heroic acts during two missions during the Vietnam War: destroying the Vietcong tunnels of Cu Chi and rescuing POWs held in Cambodia. How the Vietnam War came about and its horrendous injustices toward the Vietnamese people and their country are well portrayed without boring readers. Almost one million orphans existed in post-war Vietnam, many the products of US GIs. The truth about American and South Vietnamese lives lost through our Army’s


carter jefferson
1/17/2010 5:11:30 PM

Please look at another: The Internet Review of Books - http://internetreviewofbooks.com We started two years ago with reviews of serious non-fiction books that we thought might simply fall into the well. Since then we've added a fiction section operating on the same premise, and will add a poetry section in April. Because the entire venture is run by volunteers, our growth has been slow, but it's continuing. The editors are all published writers, and our reviewers know their subjects.


caroline_2
1/14/2010 3:42:20 PM

www.therumpus.net. The Rumpus writes reviews about any book, regardless of its publication date, and also has a great running column that anyone can submite to called "Last Book I Loved."


bruce mcpherson
1/14/2010 3:05:53 PM

Here is one of the best of all, particularly for fiction in translation : The Complete Review (www.complete-review.com).


rsanquiche
1/14/2010 2:44:13 PM

Thank you for this list. I want to add another source of book reviews -- www.ethicalmarkets.com Books We Like. This site features reviews of book on SRI, sustainability, alternative economics, ESG and other topics important to UTNE readers. The vast majority of reviews are written by Hazel Henderson herself, renowned alternative economist, sustainability expert, award-winning author and long supporter of UTNE. Those few she doesn't write are posted by Ethical Markets staff who read, write and review in these fields as a labor of love.