Green Freeway: The Florida Wildlife Corridor

The proposed Florida Wildlife Corridor, a 1,000 mile network of wildlife preserves, will depend on a unique alliance of private ranchers and environmental interests.
By Staff, Utne Reader
November/December 2012
Add to My MSN

Green freeways help animals move between undeveloped areas without being hurt.
Photo By Alans1948


Content Tools

Related Content

The Buck Stops Here

With hunters trading rifles for video games, who will fund state parks?...

Private Interests Fuel Corporate Sustainability

The benefits of corporate sustainability principles are brought into question as big-brand companies...

Alliances between environmentalists and ranchers don’t happen very often. But that’s exactly what’s behind the planned Florida Wildlife Corridor—a continuous stretch of wildlife preserves and passageways that extends from Georgia to the Everglades, says OnEarth (September 5, 2012). It’s also the idea behind the Florida Wildlife Corridor Expedition, a 1,000-mile, three-month journey of naturalists through the proposed system to study the area and raise awareness. 

One of the fastest growing states in the union, Florida loses about 150,000 acres of rural land every year, and only a fraction of original forest and wetland communities remain, according to the state’s Department of Environmental Protection. What’s more, existing habitats are increasingly fragmented by roads, farms, and urban development. Habitat fragmentation can have a devastating effect on biodiversity, and is a major cause of extinction throughout the world. In Florida’s increasingly urban landscape, traffic accidents account for nine tenths of black bear deaths.

One solution is to create natural corridors that allow wildlife to bypass cars and urban residents between protected habitats. The increasingly popular idea has already impacted designs for freeways and helped protect migratory birds along their routes. One complication in Florida is that much of the corridors would pass through the state’s surprisingly large network of ranchlands. Many ranchers have long been suspicious of environmental (and government) initiatives, and this project has been no exception.

But the state has had some luck, with thousands of acres already set aside through conservation easements—including some 150,000 acres granted earlier this year. In a kind of best-of-both-worlds between agricultural and environmental interests, easements grant development rights to a government conservation program while ranchers technically retain ownership. “That means ranchlands can stay ranchlands, but wetlands in the easement must stay wetlands, too,” says OnEarth’s Jennifer Pinkowski.

And it’s catching on. It doesn’t hurt that the government pays good money for easement rights and the deal usually means a break on property taxes. Many ranchers are also enthusiastic about the fact that easements will keep their ranches from becoming shopping centers a generation or two down the line. If ranchers remain open to the idea, and if federal money continues to trickle—and that last one is a big IF—Florida’s Corridor might demonstrate a more inclusive method of fighting environmental crisis.








Post a comment below.

 

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 7:05:12 AM
Thanks for Nice and Informative Post. This article is really contains lot more information about This Topic. - Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-noida/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/ Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-delhi/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 7:02:21 AM
Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content. Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 6:56:30 AM
This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post. Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 6:47:09 AM
Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

soniya
4/4/2015 5:23:39 AM
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

soniya
4/4/2015 5:22:46 AM
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/ Packers and Movers Noida @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers India @ http://list5th.in/














Pay Now & Save $5!
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Address: *
City: *
State/Province: *
Zip/Postal Code:*
Country:
Email:*
(* indicates a required item)
Canadian subs: 1 year, (includes postage & GST). Foreign subs: 1 year, . U.S. funds.
Canadian Subscribers - Click Here
Non US and Canadian Subscribers - Click Here

Want to gain a fresh perspective? Read stories that matter? Feel optimistic about the future? It's all here! Utne Reader offers provocative writing from diverse perspectives, insightful analysis of art and media, down-to-earth news and in-depth coverage of eye-opening issues that affect your life.

Save Even More Money By Paying NOW!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You save an additional $5 and get 4 issues of Utne Reader for only $31.00 (USA only).

Or Bill Me Later and pay just $36 for 4 issues of Utne Reader!