Investing in Soil Trust

Woody Tasch, an Utne Visionary and founder of Slow Money, has a new project that aims to help communities and small farms—Soil Trust.
By Staff, Utne Reader
March/April 2013
Add to My MSN

Humble and quiet, soil links individual nourishment to strong local economies and the health of the planet. Because overworked soil cannot produce nutritious food, our health and that of coming generations depends on how we care for soil now.
Photo By D. Sharon Pruitt


Content Tools

Related Content

Investing in a Resilient Future

Slow Money founder Woody Tasch talks about investing in the future and Slow Money’s new offshoot, G...

Real Change is Up to Us

Utne Reader Visionary Woody Tasch talks presidential campaigns, money, and sustainable economics.

What Is Slow Money?

We've all seen the damage "fast money" can do. What's the alternative?...

Woody Tasch: Free-Range Capitalist

Woody Tasch believes that local, sustainable food is a good investment: in our communities, our land...

Humble and quiet, soil links individual nourishment to strong local economies and the health of the planet. Because overworked soil cannot produce nutritious food, our health and that of coming generations depends on how we care for soil now.

A first step toward sustaining soil health is getting more would-be small farmers onto land (or rooftops), helping community-focused grocery stores and delivery services get started, or lending funds to programmers whose software helps small farmers plan and evaluate yields. For Grist (December 5, 2012), Tilde Herrera writes that Woody Tasch—a 2010 Utne Visionary, founder of the Slow Money Alliance, and now the Soil Trust—aims to do just that.

In a world of big banks and “fast money,” as Tasch calls it, small farms and food businesses have had a hard time attracting investors’ attention. The Slow Money Alliance already works with investors to fund community-centered food endeavors, but requires hands-on involvement and large sums from backers. Soil Trust will operate more like a mutual fund, with many people investing small amounts and ceding control over specifics.

There is one difference between Soil Trust and a traditional mutual fund—you won’t see that money come back. Officially, your investment in Soil Trust is a donation that stays there. Your return on it? Healthy soil, people, and communities.








Post a comment below.

 

packersmovers
6/4/2015 3:43:28 AM
Article Resource and usefull: Packers and Movers Hadapsar Pune or http://packers-movers-pune.co.in/packers-and-movers-hadapsar-pune.html Packers and Movers Magarpatta Pune or http://packers-movers-pune.co.in/packers-and-movers-magarpatta-pune.html Packers and Movers Bill for claim Bangalore or http://billforclaim.in/packers-and-movers-bill-for-claim-bangalore.html Packers and Movers Bill for claim hyderabad or http://billforclaim.in/packers-and-movers-bill-for-claim-hyderabad.html Leo Packers and Movers Pune or http://leopackers.co Packers and Movers Pune or http://packersmoverspune.co.in/ Transporter in Pune or http://transporterinpune.in/

Aruna
5/18/2015 5:28:54 AM
Thank you very much for this article. Packers and Movers Bangalore or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Delhi or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Noida or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/ http://4ad.in/

Aruna
5/18/2015 5:28:15 AM
Thank you very much for this article. Packers and Movers Pune or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-navi-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Thane or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon or http://www.great5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Pritam
4/29/2015 2:28:43 AM
Thanks for Nice and Informative Post. This article is really contains lot more information about This Topic. - http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-delhi/ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/

Pritam
4/29/2015 2:27:10 AM
Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content. http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Pritam
4/29/2015 2:25:40 AM
This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post. http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Pritam
4/29/2015 2:24:29 AM
Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

saclmovers
4/20/2015 1:29:39 PM
For further information regarding our services:- @SaclMovers packers and movers in Chandigarh- http://www.saclmovers.com/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html @SaclMovers packers and movers in Amritsar- http://www.saclmovers.com/packers-and-movers-amritsar.html














Pay Now & Save $5!
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Address: *
City: *
State/Province: *
Zip/Postal Code:*
Country:
Email:*
(* indicates a required item)
Canadian subs: 1 year, (includes postage & GST). Foreign subs: 1 year, . U.S. funds.
Canadian Subscribers - Click Here
Non US and Canadian Subscribers - Click Here

Want to gain a fresh perspective? Read stories that matter? Feel optimistic about the future? It's all here! Utne Reader offers provocative writing from diverse perspectives, insightful analysis of art and media, down-to-earth news and in-depth coverage of eye-opening issues that affect your life.

Save Even More Money By Paying NOW!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You save an additional $5 and get 4 issues of Utne Reader for only $31.00 (USA only).

Or Bill Me Later and pay just $36 for 4 issues of Utne Reader!