Finalists for the 2014 National Book Award Announced

| 10/21/2014 2:35:00 PM

The National Book Foundation recently shared the 20 books to make its short list for the 2014 National Book Award. The winners in each category will be announced November 19.

Anthony Doerr, All the Light We Cannot See
Rabih Alameddine, An Unnecessary Woman
Marilynne Robinson, Lyla
Phil Klay, Redeployment
Emily St. John Michael, Station Eleven

Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition
Roz Chast, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant
Edward O. Wilson, The Meaning of Human Existence
Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living
John Lahr, Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh

Claudia Rankine, Citizen
Louise Glück, Faithful and Virtuous Night
Fred Moten, The Feel Trio
Fanny Howe, Second Childhood
Maureen N. McLane, This Blue

Young People’s Literature
Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming
John Corey Whaley, Noggin
Steve Sheinkin, The Port Chicago 50
Deborah Wiles, Revolution
Eliot Schrefer, Threatened

Image licensed under Simon & Schuster

Pay Now Save $5!

Utne Summer 2016Want to gain a fresh perspective? Read stories that matter? Feel optimistic about the future? It's all here! Utne Reader offers provocative writing from diverse perspectives, insightful analysis of art and media, down-to-earth news and in-depth coverage of eye-opening issues that affect your life.

Save Even More Money By Paying NOW!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You save an additional $5 and get 4 issues of Utne Reader for only $40.00 (USA only).

Or Bill Me Later and pay just $45 for 4 issues of Utne Reader!

Facebook Instagram Twitter

click me