Charles Mingus Sextet With Eric Dolphy

Cornell 1964 (Blue Note)

| November / December 2007

Sue Mingus keeps unearthing obscure treasures from her late husband’s closet, and multiple live recordings by this sextet have been available for decades. So why is Cornell 1964 a must-have Mingus disc? Because, as jazz critic Gary Giddins explains in his spot-on liner notes, “Here is the sound of Mingus elated,” a rare thing for this legendarily irascible genius. The result is a combustible, daring, harmonically dense, and innovative concert with an additional radiance of joy. Eric Dolphy’s bass clarinet is especially perceptive and incendiary on two half-hour-long sociopolitical bonfires, “Fables of Faubus” and “Meditations,” and the sextet lends an ecstatic woof and glide to Billy Strayhorn’s “Take the ‘A’ Train.”
4/24/2008 12:00:00 AM

My favorite megaupload files search engine is it�s the most powerful an easy to use.

Pay Now Save $5!

Utne Summer 2016Want to gain a fresh perspective? Read stories that matter? Feel optimistic about the future? It's all here! Utne Reader offers provocative writing from diverse perspectives, insightful analysis of art and media, down-to-earth news and in-depth coverage of eye-opening issues that affect your life.

Save Even More Money By Paying NOW!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You save an additional $5 and get 4 issues of Utne Reader for only $40.00 (USA only).

Or Bill Me Later and pay just $45 for 4 issues of Utne Reader!

Facebook Instagram Twitter