High School Students Rising


| 3/22/2013 3:53:00 PM



RIP-Career-Choices

Faced with shrinking budgets and a test-centric reform agenda, high school students across the country are fighting back. Risking expulsion and even arrest, students are confronting broken policies with walkouts, boycotts, and other creative actions.

This post originally appeared at Waging Nonviolence.  

“You’re going to be expelled,” an administrator at Northwestern High School in Hyattsville, Md., just twenty minutes away from the Washington, D.C., line, told the two boys sitting in her office on March 1, 2012.

“What?” Ricardo Fuentes, then a junior, asked, feigning ignorance.

“Project Xbox.”



Project Xbox was the code-name for the walkout that Fuentes had helped plan with El Cambio, an activist student group at Northwestern, for the National Day of Action for Education that day. Hours before the walkout he and his friend had been pulled into the office and confronted by the school’s administration. Administrators had pinpointed the two boys as key organizers — though only Fuentes was actually involved — and were determined to put a stop to it. They held the boys in the room for seven hours, offering to let them out only to visit lunch periods to tell people to stop the walkout. Fuentes, already resigned to his fate, refused to cooperate.

aaluchanasabji
5/2/2016 2:39:17 AM

Packers and Movers Pune goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Bangalore goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/


aaluchanasabji
5/2/2016 2:38:09 AM

Packers and Movers Gurgaon goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/ Packers and Movers Hyderabad goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Delhi goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/


aaluchanasabji
5/2/2016 2:35:23 AM

Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/