Solar Gardens: Power to the People

With solar gardens, or community-owned solar power, neighbors team up to buy panels and share the benefits of renewable energy through virtual net metering.
By Staff, Utne Reader
September/October 2012
Add to My MSN

Community-owned solar has the potential to make solar energy accessible to large numbers of people.
JEDA VILLA BALI


Content Tools

Related Content

Find Renewable Energy in Your State

Studies have shown that Americans are willing to pay more for energy from renewable sources. Now, th...

‘The Winds Are Holy’

Wind turbines are sprouting up on American Indian reservations across the country, Megan Gray report...

Boulder Moves Toward Clean, Independent Energy

Boulder, Colorado, took a landmark step toward energy independence when its voters chose to allow th...

The (Nuclear) Power of the Market

 If the future of nuclear power were as bright as its most enthusiastic supporters suggest it is, in...

Sure, solar power is clean and renewable—but in most cases it’s also expensive and impractical. In fact, when roof angle, direction, and shade are taken into account, only 20 percent of American households capture enough rays to make solar useful—and potential payoff won’t help with a down payment on panels.

Enter solar gardens, a way for neighbors to pool resources and buy into solar energy together. With community-owned solar, explains Sustainablog (July 2, 2012), individual households can buy or lease a percentage of a neighborhood solar array.

The arrays, or “gardens,” can be installed on flat land or a rooftop in the community. From there, electricity is sent to the power grid and metered virtually. Each household’s electric bill is credited in proportion to their share of the garden and how much energy it produced. Virtual net metering, the technology that makes all of this possible, is not available everywhere, but programs are expanding state by state.

So far, Colorado is leading the charge for community-owned solar power, with 12 existing solar gardens and another seven in the works. Moreover, the state has established exchange programs with power companies that can be modeled elsewhere. Check out the Solar Garden Institute to find or create a community-owned array for renewable power near you.








Post a comment below.

 

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 7:04:30 AM
Thanks for Nice and Informative Post. This article is really contains lot more information about This Topic. - Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-noida/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-pune/ Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-delhi/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.smaart5th.in/packers-and-movers-in-gurgaon/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 7:01:11 AM
Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content. Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 6:55:02 AM
This article is really fantastic and thanks for sharing the valuable post. Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 6:48:04 AM
Thanks for post this helpful post - Please visit for More information about - Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://packersmoverspune.top3rd.in/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/

abhishekkr
4/28/2015 6:45:17 AM
http://www.local5th.in/

soniya
4/4/2015 5:24:29 AM
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Pune @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/

soniya
4/4/2015 5:21:41 AM
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/ Packers and Movers Noida @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://list5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers India @ http://list5th.in/

Anthony Dowling
9/10/2012 12:13:47 PM
Hello the post was very informative. The installation of solar power can be very expensive but the average do it yourself person can build a solar system for less than $500. http://howtocreateasolarpanel.net














Pay Now & Save $5!
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Address: *
City: *
State/Province: *
Zip/Postal Code:*
Country:
Email:*
(* indicates a required item)
Canadian subs: 1 year, (includes postage & GST). Foreign subs: 1 year, . U.S. funds.
Canadian Subscribers - Click Here
Non US and Canadian Subscribers - Click Here

Want to gain a fresh perspective? Read stories that matter? Feel optimistic about the future? It's all here! Utne Reader offers provocative writing from diverse perspectives, insightful analysis of art and media, down-to-earth news and in-depth coverage of eye-opening issues that affect your life.

Save Even More Money By Paying NOW!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You save an additional $5 and get 4 issues of Utne Reader for only $31.00 (USA only).

Or Bill Me Later and pay just $36 for 4 issues of Utne Reader!